Building A (Poorly Desinged) Symmetrical Emitter Feedback Amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I had my eyes on this topology for the last six months. I know I will do good to go with F5, the thing is that I just don't like common source output stages. No offence, I am sure it sounds GREAT to many people. Also I have no prior experience with JFET inputs and symmetrical current-source amplifiers (more the reason why I should try F5 :D).

So I (poorly) designed this circuit from gathered information from the net(took quite a lot of on-screen reading, ufffff). It's simple to look at but gave me nightmares while setting the offset. A little more reading and found the trick.

The input BJTs are biased at ~10mA, VAS at ~50mA and FETs at ~1A. After playing with the resistor values I have found this config to have a sim-ed distortion of 0.0089% @ 1KHz / 20V P-P output without too much dissipation in the transistors. This value seems good but I believe the resistor values are still not optimum and circuit performance can be increased even more. I have seen that a higher bias in the input and VAS stage gives a larger bandwidth but the output shows oscillation(too much phase-shift may be) after the bandwidth exceeds 10MHz. This is at a current of 20mA and 120mA in the input and VAS respectively. Of course the devices will die out of excessive dissipation at these currents. With the shown values the bandwith is ~1.9MHz.

I know I can eliminate the input caps by using buffers, but that would require at least ten more solders joints and I am short on space. MKT at inputs are perfectly OK for me, besides I am prejudiced that they sound good :joker:. I got all the parts minus the offset-ing pot, so am quickly going to place them on veroboard.