Aragon 4004 power amp channel imbalance

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,

Was wondering if anyone might be able to give me some advice that might be familiar with the power amp I have. I am not that technical! I bought a used Aragon 4004 power amplifier and it has a slight but definite and annoying channel imbalance. Its about 2-3dB quieter on the right side. I was reading it could be possibly be down to a dud resistor in the negative feedback circuit or some bad soldering. I also notice there are two cermet pots (the type of pots with the tiny adjuster you use a small screwdriver with) in each of the channel circuits of the amp (so four pots in total in the stereo amp). These pots are near the output transistors (there are 8 output transistor per channel). Wanted to ask if anyone knew what these are for, - bias or something else. I have not tried adjusting them at all yet.

I'll try to take a pic of the amps board and post.

Cheers,
David

Two of the pots (on each amp board) will be for bias, the other two will more than likely be for adjusting DC offset.

With regards to one side being quieter than the other, is the 2-3dB difference measured or are you just assuming? This imbalance could just be your brain tricking you (for one reason or another), slight differences in speaker efficiencies, volume control gang mismatch or as you say, a dud component (eg. gain setting resistor or DC blocking capacitor) in the feedback network.

Hi Jack,

Thanks for the info. Unfortunately I already adjusted those pots bit to see if it made any difference to the imbalance and of course it didn't. I therefore now have another slight problem anyway as I lost count of the number of turns I adjusted by, Is there are a simple guide anywhere that could get me started on getting these adjusting the bias and DC offset correctly (I have a multimeter and the circuit diagram)