Simple Symetrical Amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Did-you forget the inertia of the cone ?
And remember, if you send a high level 22µs pulse in-it, you will get awfull cone fractioning effects (distortion, etc...).
More than that, if you change the emitting surface at each level step, you will change the dynamic response curve a very strange way.
What about a plasma speaker, there is no inertia and and no frequency limit.

Sorry we are getting off topic.

Will the plasma speaker not produce the jaggies even more profoundly? I mean, plasma or whatever, the transducer has to move from zero to say 10 in a microsecond, then go back to zero again and then the cycle repeats.

My question is how, if possible, will the transducer interpolate the steps? Will the speaker throw a 44.1KHz square to us, with the sine hidden in it?

I have no knowledge of class-d, but these things just came to mind. :)

Anyways, I'm now in my friend's house arranging for a musical evening and will visit my village tomorrow!

How's cambe's and abetir's SSA going?

diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
I had suggested that some time ago. And said that Class D, T etc. is the future.
Because it is near the digital domain, and, we can love-it or no, but digital will take all the audio market. We can imagine a direct oversampling/undersampling power converter, driving directly loudspeaker.
Because is is less Dependant on the qualities of the parts, so more industrial. So less expensive. and depend mainly on the design's intelligence and care.
Because active devices goes more and more fast; so it will be more and more accurate and easy to filtrate the switching frequency.
Because we are too many on this planet, and energy will become a big problem.