Simple Symetrical Amplifier - Page 251 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st May 2012, 05:10 PM   #2501
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianco View Post
Somehow analogue most often sounds like music and can give a lot more emotional fulfilment than can processed digital signal .
Just like painting VS photography. All is a question of what you are looking for: Emotion, or transparency.
As a sound engineer, i wonder such a nostalgia in so many "audiophile's" minds. If you are looking for that kind of "nice sounding" sound reproduction, just use tube amps. they are not transparent, but will give you more "emotional fulfilment" that any SS amp you can imagine.
This old troll "Digital vs analog" make-me laugh. When you just had finished a mix and you listen to the first vinyl from-it, you can just cry. While no question listening to any good digital copy/clone.
Old 1st May 2012, 05:26 PM   #2502
brianco is offline brianco  Ireland
diyAudio Member

Location: Scottish Borders - Kelso; on the famous Tweed River!
Ever heard a very good TT set up?

I agree with first generation masters in digital format.....but - with a few exceptions - not when comparing CD to Vinyl! NOT getting into the tubes v SS argument.
Old 1st May 2012, 05:39 PM   #2503
diyAudio Member

Problem is that not many have heard a proper analog rig. Even less have heard a turntable that is precisely set up. Add to it that the records have to be super clean, flat and well pressed on good material.
Old 1st May 2012, 06:13 PM   #2504
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin