Simple Symetrical Amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi LC,

I have read (much was simply scanned) this thread from the beginning and all of the early comment I found indicates that this amp is for me....but in its simplest form. I want to build it, but, with over 2,200 posts, I cannot find the "Official, approved by You" schematic for the amp and PS. IF you know where to find them will you please give the post numbers or repost the .pdfs/drawings.

Very many thanks.

So it is more about one's priority and preference over music.
Yes. As a sound engineer, i ask, for my reproduction system to be as transparent and analytic as possible. Reason why i do not look for that kind of "tube sound" able to make agreeable even a disagreeable recording.
I don't believe a low distortion/fast amp produce more agressive treeble. On the contrary, the two things i can notice with my SSA mod is more detailled basses and more natural (smoother) trebles (specially cymbals). Probably due to less TIM. More space too between instruments, they are easier to separate and follow, with less listening fatigue.
As it is the same amp, same VAS, same drivers and same power stage, i credit this change to the slew-rate and distortion improvement.

My high efficiency and very analytic 2 ways satellites are equipped with JBL drivers (and kind similar wooden circular horns as LeCleac''s ones) for the top range, from 1Khz. They do not go high in treble, and my amp was quite fast before. So, it is definitely a question of TIM, not bandwidth.
(For the basses, i run a 48cm JBL in a 500L BR sub, down to 30hz).

About impedance curves of the speakers, they are totally compensated, and the total curve is very linear at 6 Ohms.(less than -+1 Ohm around)