Dx Blame MKIII-Hx - Builder's thread - Page 97 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th February 2012, 03:27 PM   #961
BMW850 is offline BMW850  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
BMW850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North East of the Netherlands
@ Junie,
This amplifier you have built is beautiful, congratulations.

@ harmonicconverger
Sorry I cannot help you, but I find this amplifier earned a decent power supply.
If I look at the photo of the transformer, this transformer has had his best years.

Regards,
Rudy
__________________
Itís not what you know, but who you know ďand where they areĒ
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2012, 03:35 PM   #962
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Neat work Junie ..... what size transformer (s) ...?
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2012, 04:49 AM   #963
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Hi,

I am using veroBoard. I decided to add few more transistors at output to test. Now sounding much better within very low volume, I can hear carlos high freq sound.

I think all problems are related to bias setup and also Oscillations. Now i can't set the bias as like before at 1mv. I wanted to set bias but it only can start from 22mv across R39, I went to check how to set bias, carlos deleted the video.

Anyone pls let me know how to setup Bias properly. I forgotten many things in 3 years. I made my Dx hariri on 2008 also used same transformer to test. It was nice working amp and lost it when i shifted my house.

Here is the pic of my amp. you can see the voltage is showing (-) sign. The mulimeter was connected to output and GND, it should not show (-) volt.
Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Regards
Michael
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2012, 09:12 AM   #964
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2000 View Post
Hi,

I am using veroBoard. I decided to add few more transistors at output to test. Now sounding much better within very low volume, I can hear carlos high freq sound.

I think all problems are related to bias setup and also Oscillations. Now i can't set the bias as like before at 1mv. I wanted to set bias but it only can start from 22mv across R39, I went to check how to set bias, carlos deleted the video.

Anyone pls let me know how to setup Bias properly. I forgotten many things in 3 years. I made my Dx hariri on 2008 also used same transformer to test. It was nice working amp and lost it when i shifted my house.

Here is the pic of my amp. you can see the voltage is showing (-) sign. The mulimeter was connected to output and GND, it should not show (-) volt.

Regards
Michael
Hi,

Thanks for the photos. The insulating washers under the transistors on the heatsink are not visible. How did you insulate these? Also try connecting the heatsink to the 0V point.

The output stage bias transistor, which has R25 connected to its base, has to be mounted on the same heatsink as the output transistors as it forms part of the thermal feedback loop.

The DC output offset you have measured may be positive or negative. Minus 29 mV is acceptable.

Post #200 in this thread shows the method of setting the bias current correctly.

Is the veroboard the strip type or plain type? If you've used the strip type, instability can be caused by capacitive / inductive coupling between adjacent strips.

An oscilloscope would be an advantage in locating the source of instability.

Regards,
currentflow
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2012, 08:50 AM   #965
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thanks. I finally found the problem. it was output resister that i had wrong value 470 ohm. I checked the old forum list and found that it should be 0.47, I jsut changed to 0.15 because i don't have any 0.47 ohm. Now its working fine. Bias not yet set cause no proper value on resister.

I want to confirm it again, it should be 0.47 ohm right?

Thanks again for your help.

Regards
Michael
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2012, 11:24 AM   #966
Junie is offline Junie  Philippines
diyAudio Member
 
Junie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2000 View Post
I want to confirm it again, it should be 0.47 ohm right?

Thanks again for your help.

Regards
Michael
Yes it's 0.47ohm
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2012, 11:30 AM   #967
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2000 View Post
Thanks. I finally found the problem. it was output resister that i had wrong value 470 ohm. I checked the old forum list and found that it should be 0.47, I jsut changed to 0.15 because i don't have any 0.47 ohm. Now its working fine. Bias not yet set cause no proper value on resister.

I want to confirm it again, it should be 0.47 ohm right?

Thanks again for your help.

Regards
Michael
Hi,

I'm pleased to hear you've found the problem. The output transistors' emitter resistors, should be 0R47 (= 0.47 ohm), this being the specified value.

Don't forget to move the bias transistor (C16 connects across it) from the Veroboard to the heatsink as it needs to monitor the temperature of the output transistors. If this is not done, there is a very real possibility that the output transistors can continue to overheat and eventually suffer damage. The purpose of the bias transistor is to reduce the bias current in the output transistors should they exhibit an increase in temperature. This forms a thermal feedback system that regulates the amplifier's quiescent current.

Regards,
currentflow
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2012, 12:21 AM   #968
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I am confused about R22 check this Diagram (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/attac...-schematic.pdf)

is this 2.7oh or 4.7oh? DX list shown 2.7ohm.

I also have one problem. when i power on the amp and no input connection, the output make sound (toooooo) like this. when i connect with Audio input, there is no sound and its ok.
What could be this?

Regards
Michael

Last edited by space2000; 9th February 2012 at 12:24 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2012, 01:29 AM   #969
diyAudio Member
 
lanchile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AREA 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2000 View Post
I am confused about R22 check this Diagram (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/attac...-schematic.pdf)

is this 2.7oh or 4.7oh? DX list shown 2.7ohm.

I also have one problem. when i power on the amp and no input connection, the output make sound (toooooo) like this. when i connect with Audio input, there is no sound and its ok.
What could be this?

Regards
Michael
Well, R22 shows 4.7ohms. and the (toooo) noise can be a "ground" problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2012, 03:58 PM   #970
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2000 View Post
I am confused about R22 check this Diagram (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/attac...-schematic.pdf)

is this 2.7oh or 4.7oh? DX list shown 2.7ohm.

I also have one problem. when i power on the amp and no input connection, the output make sound (toooooo) like this. when i connect with Audio input, there is no sound and its ok.
What could be this?

Regards
Michael
Don't be fooled, no official list or "BOM" has been posted. Everyone builds its own from the schematics.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dx Blame ST - Builder's thread - post pictures, reviews and comments here please. destroyer X Solid State 1730 15th September 2014 10:01 PM
Dx Blame MKIII Supercharged will soon be released destroyer X Solid State 346 22nd April 2014 03:01 PM
group buy for DX Blame MKIII Hx PCBs ByronInPortland Group Buys 247 5th December 2012 12:05 AM
Group By: DX Blame MKIII Hx boards ByronInPortland Group Buys 9 19th July 2011 07:21 AM
Dx Blame MKII, an obvious evolution from the Dx Blame ES/ST destroyer X Solid State 4 25th September 2010 06:41 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:57 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2