Dx Blame MKIII-Hx - Builder's thread - Page 6 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th August 2011, 05:48 PM   #51
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woody1911a1 View Post
i'd be interested to hear what everyone is using for transformers . especially those in the usa .

i usually buy mine from antek .

cheers Woody
I was going to give antek a try also, was not able to find any bad on them ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2011, 05:52 PM   #52
gychang is offline gychang  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Davis, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woody1911a1 View Post
i'd be interested to hear what everyone is using for transformers . especially those in the usa .

i usually buy mine from antek .

cheers Woody
glad someone is asking this question, also heat sink in USA.
__________________
--
Good sound from Davis, CA
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2011, 11:19 AM   #53
diyAudio Member
 
destroyer X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Recife - Brasil Northeast
Default How to measure your output power without damage your speakers

Full power connected to a speaker may blow it...so..use dummy load..video explains how to make it using cheap multimeter, a couple of resistors, a signal generator or a low voltage AC transformer as audio generator.

Dx amp. dummy load to measure power, medir potencia com carga - YouTube

regards,

Carlos
__________________
DxS, the best from the best...the cream from the cream, the best wide world ever made audio amplifier.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2011, 01:29 PM   #54
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Anyone up and running yet , any word on the antek trannies?
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2011, 01:33 PM   #55
diyAudio Member
 
ByronInPortland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Up and running? Do you mean finished? Or do you mean started building? Even though I had most of my parts before the boards arrived, I haven't even started. I have a deadline on a pair of speakers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2011, 05:17 PM   #56
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Default Inductor

The output inductor is shown on the schematic as 2.2 uH and on the PCB it looks like 2.2mH. I assume 2.2 uH is correct.

Is there some guidance on how to wind the inductor - wire gauge, coil diameter and number of windings? I assume for this huge output some large gauge magnet wire is needed.

Thanks,
Francois
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2011, 05:33 PM   #57
AndrewT is online now AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Use enameled copper wire.
Choose between 1.0mm diam and 1.6mm diam.
Find a former of between 10mm and 20mm diameter.
Wind on between 8turns and 20turns for less to more inductance.

The smaller diameter formers will need more turns to achieve similar inductance.

A single layer winding is OK.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2011, 10:55 PM   #58
diyAudio Member
 
destroyer X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Recife - Brasil Northeast
Default François G, if you have a basic understanding of portuguese

you can use a software i can send you...it is ony 1M size.

There are several coil calculator software around.... if you want this one them write to uncle charlie:

nanabrother@hotmail.com
carlos.eugenio1951@yahoo.com

Them i will send you the software.... there are some sentences you must translate to your language....but only a few sentences...see the image.

You can have any inductance value with any wire thickness...we use 1 to 3 milimeters thickness because they are easy to find, easy to make coils or (thick ones) they are mechanically resistant to continue having its shape even if you hit them with your arm, finger or any tool...you can make 2.2uh with any wire thickness, it is up to you to make it large or not large.... software offer mathematics calculation considering wire thickness, coil diameter, coil length and number of turns.

Image shows a picture with a small coil (more turns, small diameter) and other image shows a big coil, the one has less turns, thicker wire and large diameter.

regards,

Carlos
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Coil calculator.jpg (106.2 KB, 904 views)
File Type: jpg small coil (1).jpg (105.6 KB, 889 views)
File Type: jpg small coil (2).jpg (237.5 KB, 879 views)
__________________
DxS, the best from the best...the cream from the cream, the best wide world ever made audio amplifier.

Last edited by destroyer X; 31st August 2011 at 11:04 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2011, 11:08 PM   #59
diyAudio Member
 
sandbasser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Riverside, CA - USA
From the printing on the Byron board it looks like a resistor goes through the middle of the choke, is that correct; and what value is it???

Thanks,
__________________
- Ray
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2011, 08:16 AM   #60
AndrewT is online now AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
If the resistor has any magnetic material in it's construction (eg. Fe iron and others) then do not run it inside the coil (inductor).
Pass the resistance/s outside the coil to avoid (or at least minimise) any magnetic effect.

Since the resistor passes the HF, it should have the shortest route through the Network from amplifier to speaker. The inductor passes LF & MF and so can be offset from the shortest most straight route. If one is PCB mounting this part of the Thiele Network, then locating the resistor under the PCB in line with the traces would achieve the HF performance. Locate the inductor on standoffs (extended legs of the wire) on the topside of the PCB.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dx Blame ST - Builder's thread - post pictures, reviews and comments here please. destroyer X Solid State 1730 15th September 2014 10:01 PM
Dx Blame MKIII Supercharged will soon be released destroyer X Solid State 346 22nd April 2014 03:01 PM
group buy for DX Blame MKIII Hx PCBs ByronInPortland Group Buys 247 5th December 2012 12:05 AM
Group By: DX Blame MKIII Hx boards ByronInPortland Group Buys 9 19th July 2011 07:21 AM
Dx Blame MKII, an obvious evolution from the Dx Blame ES/ST destroyer X Solid State 4 25th September 2010 06:41 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:10 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2