Increasing output channels of preamp. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th January 2002, 12:05 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question Increasing output channels of preamp.

Hi,

does anyone have a idea how to increase the amount of output channels of a preamp (or mixer)? I'm looking for something to connect on an excisting output, with four (or more) in volume adjustable outputs. I was thinking about placing a buffer after the output of the preamp to prevent too low impedances for that output. After that buffer I would connect the extra pre-amps with the gains adjustable by potmeters.

I could realise this with simple opamps, I know how they work and how to calculate the resistors etc... But I'm not very experienced with opamps practically speaking. Which types are usable for good audio performance?

I could also use transistor stages, it's a little more complicated than previous method, but I can handle this.

If you have any ideas or excisting schematics, please let me know.

Many thanks to this GREAT forum!!

Hugobross.
Old 15th January 2002, 01:01 PM   #2
paulb is offline paulb  Canada
diyAudio Member

Good opamps.
Old 15th January 2002, 02:03 PM   #3
Geoff is offline Geoff  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Hugobross

Do you wish to be able to increase the voltage level of individual outputs relative to the voltage output of the pre-amp or merely to reduce it? The optimum solution will depend on this.

Geoff
Old 15th January 2002, 07:05 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

The meaning is to be able to reduce the amplitude per channel.
So we will need per channel a potmeter to reduce amplitude.

regards,

HB.
Old 15th January 2002, 08:16 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

HB