Increasing output channels of preamp.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

does anyone have a idea how to increase the amount of output channels of a preamp (or mixer)? I'm looking for something to connect on an excisting output, with four (or more) in volume adjustable outputs. I was thinking about placing a buffer after the output of the preamp to prevent too low impedances for that output. After that buffer I would connect the extra pre-amps with the gains adjustable by potmeters.

I could realise this with simple opamps, I know how they work and how to calculate the resistors etc... But I'm not very experienced with opamps practically speaking. Which types are usable for good audio performance?

I could also use transistor stages, it's a little more complicated than previous method, but I can handle this.

If you have any ideas or excisting schematics, please let me know.

Many thanks to this GREAT forum!!

Hugobross.

HB

Any competant pre-amp should be able to drive its full rated output into a 600ohm load so it should be possible to use a completely passive arrangement. Four 10kohm pots in parallel should not overload the pre-amp but you would need to keep the connections between the pots and the following equipment reasonably short (< 500 to 750mm) to prevent high frequency roll off.

For longer cable lengths, or to be absolutely on the safe side, a buffer (eg OPA 634, BUF04) or an op-amp wired as a non-inverting unity gain buffer between each pot and output would be required. If there is any doubt about the pre-amp's drive capabilities then a further buffer between the pre-amp and the pots would be desirable. All this is very much as you indicated in your original post.