Adcom GFA-545; What's all the buzz about? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th June 2011, 09:24 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Adcom GFA-545; What's all the buzz about?

Hey guys. I am very new to DYI, and new with regards to mods, repairs, etc. In fact, I don't have any real formal electronics repair training, so this line of questioning is more for educational purposes, than for me actually trying any repairs myself. I saw this thread and thought it would be a great place to get some help with my particular problem. And please forgive my crude non technical terminology Click the image to open in full size. As a pro bassist by trade, I have built bass guitars, electronics and all. But the most complex thing I've done with audio gear is upgrade rca inputs and binding posts. Lol. Like I said...REAL new.

Anyway, I just acquired a GFA-545 (the first series, not the mkII) that is very pristine inside and out, like it was tucked away in an AV install. But when I hooked it up, there was slight distortion coming from the speakers, particularly the left side. The audio signal comes thru as it should, and no front panel lights are indicating any problems, yet the sound has a fuzzy quality to it. I already own two 535 IIís so I am quite familiar with the sound of this series of Adcom amps, and would like to benefit from the extra power of the 545.