Noob here. GFA565 running hot.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Here's my original post:

Hello.
I've spent hours reading the threads on this forum about the Adcom GFA 565's. I have two of these monsters. One has never given me any trouble. The other I've had repaired twice at over $250 a pop. The first repair was a 10K ohm 1/2 watt resistor, a 47 Ohm 1/2 watt resistor and a 2.7 Ohm 1/2 watt resistor. Parts $23 and $230 labor. The next repair on the same amp was part number 2SC945 transistor and 1 ohm 1/2 watt resistor. $18 in parts and $281 in labor. This done by an Adcom certified repair store.

It started both times with distorted audio. I know it's vague but I'd love to learn how to fix this myself in the future. If this sucker breaks again I'm going to either fix it myself or use it for a boat anchor.

Any idea what they "fixed"? Is it just because the amp is old?

BTW, serial number is 011214627

Thanks in advance. I'll keep reading and learning in the meantime. I really need to find the repair/service manual for these things.

Well, I had it repaired for another $200. After a 8 months it's doing it again. Distorted audio after an hour or so of running. Runs pretty hot.

With my meter on the DCV 200m setting, the DC offset starts fluctuates between 11.8 to 14.8 then comes down to fluctuate between +03.2 to -05.0 mostly hovering around +03.1 to -03.2. with occasional excersions beyond + or - 04.0. Just saw one go to -40.0

Amp is warm to the touch, but not hot. A faint buzzing can be heard from the board in the back. The two little heat sinks on that board are very hot. Can't see any evidence of leaking caps on the top and the size of those big caps makes me nervous to go deeper.

I've seen that anatech seems to be the go to person. Any thoughts? I love these amps but have no more confidence in the local repair shops.

Thank you!!!!!

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member