Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th June 2011, 02:52 AM   #1
dickl is offline dickl  United States
diyAudio Member

Default REPAIRING an Electro voice 1144

I dug out my old Electro Voice EV 1144, and found out that one channel is not working. Right channel is fine, left is weak and scratchy. I traced back from the speaker terminals, and the speaker switch is OK, output fuses ok. Traced the signal to the output on the amp board and the right is fine, left is weak there. Power supply seems to be OK.

I am a decent electrician, but not an experienced repair guy. Not sure the next steps.

I do have a repair manual .pdf and that is mostly a schematic diagram and how to take the cabinet apart.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Here is the link to the service manual .pdf schematic is at the end of the document. http://archives.telex.com/archives/E...ice%20Data.pdf
Old 7th June 2011, 03:48 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Is it for sentimental reasons? As far as performance goes it's really uninspired. Enough raining on your parade.

Since you have one good channel you can compare the voltages between the channels. They should natch pretty closely - <10%. Electronics tend to fail where things run warm or hot. This is usually final power transistors, drivers and power supplies. On a unit that old plan on removing the power transistors, cleaning off the old dried out heatsink compound and re-greasing the transistors with white heatsink compound.