Help with Berhringer EP1500 :( - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th March 2011, 11:35 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Help with Berhringer EP1500 :(

Hello everyone!

Im new to the world of pro audio and ive just picked up a set of cerwin vega cabs along with a free berhinger 1500 amp because it is 'faulty'. I am into electronic repair so thought that this may not to too hard to sort out saving me buying a 200 amp

The symptoms are as follows:

Once all hooked up i power the amp up (all gains set to 0 to avoid raping the cabs) and try to run some sound through it however the sound crackles like the audio quality is really poor. Also the whole time the clipping light is iluminated. The crackling starts at only 8db and gets worse any higher.

So far ive had the amp open to look for any outstanding problems such as blown/leaking caps and resistors. To my dissapointment i did not find anything apart from a few years dust build up which i hoovered up. Everything looks fine inside so ive no idea what could be wrong, ive also read up about faulty pots so i gave them a bit of a clean to get the gunk off from around them.

Still no luck... however before you ask about checking the cabs ive tested them with a cd player i had and they sound fine apart from a tweeter on one of the cabs appears to have stopped working. Could this have been a result from the amp being run in clipping from this fault?

If anyone can point me in the right direction it would be a real help.

Thanks
Old 30th March 2011, 11:55 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to audiomachines
Hi