Transistor choice help - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th March 2011, 05:39 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Transistor choice help

Hi,

First, I want to say that i'm learning english, so I'll try to explain as well as I can.

I'm an university student and I'm designing my first amp.
I just finished to design my amp but I forgot to give importance on a specific thing. I used a TO-92 transistor for my voltage amplifier stage. Now, my amp is working well (I think) on LTSpice, but those transistors consumes 800mW... That too much ! I want to know if someone know a good transistor that I can use instead of 2N5550(Q18) and 2N5401(Q15) with similars parameters and that can dissipate more power (TO-220 for exemple).

I did many research on internet and, unfortunately I didn't found what I need.
I just attached my amp simulation files on this dicussion thread

Your help is much appreciated !

Thank you.
Alex

EDIT: If you have any comments about my amp, feel free to discuss
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ampli_REV_M.pdf (23.9 KB, 54 views)
File Type: zip Ampli.zip (48.3 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by Alex1478; 27th March 2011 at 05:55 PM.
Old 27th March 2011, 06:00 PM   #2
lineup is offline lineup  Sweden
diyAudio Member

TO-126 is smaller and faster than TO-220
and such TO-126 transistors are between TO-92 and TO-220

Most commonly used TO-126 are BD139/BD140 and MJE340/MJE350
These are used to drive bigger powertransistors
Sometimes used without heatsinks, but with small heatsink can take several watts.

800mW can one TO-126 take without any aluminium heatsink
Most TO-92 should not be used more than 300mW, when rated 500-600mW

Last edited by lineup; 27th March 2011 at 06:06 PM.
Old 27th March 2011, 06:11 PM   #3
diyAudio Member