F5 no caps in amp stage,,,why is it good? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd March 2011, 01:53 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default F5 no caps in amp stage,,,why is it good?

As a beginner amp builder, i'm going to build the F5..I've noticed a few comments about no capacitors in the amp stage..Am i reading this right, and if true, what are the plus's(+'s) or negitives of this design...Thanks, les
Old 22nd March 2011, 02:10 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hello Les, I can't speak from experience on this particular design, but in general, if you have no capacitors in the signal path it reduces distortion. This is because capacitors (and all other components) have some degree of nonlinearity. This nonlinearity is what introduces the distortion. The ultimate goal of an amplifier designer/builder is the "straight wire with gain". That is the goal that still eludes all of the amps out there. Admittedly, there are some that are very close, but nothing is perfect.

Peace,

Dave
Old 22nd March 2011, 02:17 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks a lot.I'm going to appreciate my build even more, the more i know about the little things
Old 22nd March 2011, 03:07 AM   #4
Banned

Positives

1. It's simple.

2. It's straightforward to build and set up.

3. There are no transformers (except the one in the PSU).

4. There are no caps in the signal path.

5. It has a usefully high input impedance.

5. Response goes down to DC, up to RF

Negatives

1. Response goes down to DC, up to RF

2. There are no transformers (or caps in the signal path), so