10 W Class AB amp: Adapting Single Supply to Dual Supply

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear diyaudio forum,
I have some experience in electronics (took several circuits/electronics courses in college), but this is my first attempt at building a modest power amp: 10W class AB.

I found a nice, fairly simple design in "Transistor Circuit Techniques" by GJ Ritchie. His design shows a single supply (+25 V). I am thinking of how to adapt this for a dual supply design (+/- 12.5 V).

I've attached the schematics of the original (single supply design), as well as the one showing my proposed modifications for the dual supply version. I wonder if anyone can comment whether my modest changes will be sufficient. (Somehow I have this nagging feeling, there is more I need to do
icon11.gif
). Briefly, here are the changes I've made:

For proper biasing, I think I might need to change the ratio R6/R5 to be closer to 1. It seems like I ought to have R5 connected directly to +12.5 rail, but I can't do that AND have the negative feedback (set by R5 and R4). Hmmm...

Would very much appreciate any comments/suggestions/feedback you may have. Would love to know if/how I've made an error here!

Thanks a lot. Jon E

- Top/bottom rails now at +/- 12.5
-removed CL (1000u), since dc offset should be set to 0v.
-input is now shown referred to ground
-inserted power line filter caps (100 nF)
-Zobel network connects between output and ground.

Attachments

• singleSupply10WclassABamp.jpg
    singleSupply10WclassABamp.jpg
    236.9 KB · Views: 926
  • dualSupplyAmp.jpg
    dualSupplyAmp.jpg
    242.5 KB · Views: 854
Last edited:
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
The big big problem is drift... you will never achieve a stable "zero volt" output.
Also switch on/off thumps with all those time constants... easily fixed with a relay delay.

It would be easy to add a DC servo (one FET opamp).