SWR Basic Black fried PT

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First off - I am a newbie to solid state amps.
My friends Basic Black bass amp has a cooked power transformer.
We were playing a gig and we could smell something burning and it blew the fuse.
Little did I know, he had it plugged into a 2 ohm cabinet!
I took it home and put in a new fuse and it promtly blew the internal fuse.
I check the resistance in the primary and it is about 1.4 ohms.
The red wires on the output (91 v) look like they overheated.
The areas of the board where the transformer wires are attached and around the output transistors are attached look like they got hot.
The transistors themselves LOOK ok.

My question is; can the PT get fried from overload and the rest of the components survive?

I can't seem to find a schematic that includes the power supply section.
The PT is a Mercury Magnetics 560005.
I called them and they are $150 and they would need to wind one since they don't have them in stock.
The spec sheet they sent me says the PT has one primary but the actual transformer has 3. a blue set of wires is not used, and the primary wires used are actually two sets of black and white (one set has a stripe).

Does anyone know where to get a generic transformer?

you must first check the diodes and especialy the output devices first.
Otherwise you will be replacing another transformer.
First disconnect the transformer from the rest of the circuit to verify if indeed the transformer is actualy blown.
I have seen some survive in such a case. jer

p.s. even if they look okay they very well may be shorted.

Last edited:
also if you can find out what the voltage and power rating of the transformer .
I'm sure one could find a suitable replacement for alot less.

I did the same thing to my ampeg V4-B ( sad) and cooked the output transformer but there is no way around that one.