Help me understand - Input Bias

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there!

I have purchased 2 audio books. Douglas Self blameless... and High-Power audio amplifier guidebook with 50 projects 50 to 500w...

I have been repairing amplifiers for a couple of years now and understand
most of the different parts of circuits in an basic amplifier.

Now i just realized that i dont fully understand how the "first" pre-amp input stage whatever you call it... How is this transistor biased?

I know from repairing amplifiers that you set the Base Voltage to .6 volts (just theoretical). to get rid of cross over distortion in the power stage.
This is for class AB.

What about the "input transistor".... In my head i want this to be biased like an class "A" amp because the input is AC and the voltage swing will go both positive and negative.

Look at this schematic:
www.itxpress.se/amp.jpg

If you look at Q1 the base has 0V applied to it. I can not understand the function of this circuit.

Input ac "music"... negative would draw the voltage down and positive up... basic... but if i have 0 volts already it can not go further down because there is no down.. 0 and ground is the same thing here. it can only go positive but without no current trough Q1 it would be clipping like **** at about .6 volts and up to 1 volt wich is normal line level. from .6 and down to 0 you would not hear nothing at all. and the "negative side" of the audio you would not hear at all..... of course this is not the case.....

This is some late night writing for me so dont laugh at me, am just trying to figure this out =) Can someone explain the function for me or give me some advice where to get the information?