Can I have some help with my class A amplifier design? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th February 2011, 11:25 AM   #1
GregH2 is offline GregH2  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default Can I have some help with my class A amplifier design?

Hello all,

Please be gentle, my electronic knowledge is barely above high school level

Having built a pass clone and JLH I'm now trying to build a simple 2 stage mosfet class A amplifier of my own design. It will hopefully have a source follower output stage and a buffering and voltage amplifying input stage (common source). And for the fun of it I am trying to avoid global feedback, but I will add it if necessary.

This is my first attempt at designing anything myself and I have blatantly stolen Nelson Pass' Zen amplifier current source so I'm not claiming to be original.

I am trying to model the thing in LTSpice and you can see the model attached. Please note that the irf510s will not be used in practice - I will try to find something more suited to the job. These were all I could find in the standard LT spice parts library. Also the resistors on the input will be pots for adjustment of the operating point.

Anyway, I guess the first thing to ask is can you spot anything that is a glaring omission or circuit shortfall? Is this project worth following through or am I wasting my time?

Now for my main question. The problem I am having is that because the input fet is current sourced it has an extremely high gain and I get full voltage swing with only a few tenths of a volt input. Is there anything I can do to get around this, apart from add an impractically large source resistor, or is this just never going to work?