Good Coupling and Decoupling Capacitors - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th July 2003, 07:43 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Good Coupling and Decoupling Capacitors

What's your experience on 1 to 100 uF electrolytic coupling capacitors - BG, Nihicon, Philips ? Assume space dopes not allow for film types.

OSCONs are excellent for digital circuit decoupling. What's your experience of their sound when used in analogue circuit decoupling?
Old 27th July 2003, 08:19 AM   #2
Account Disabled

I have no experience, but I have heard in this forum that Black Gates are the best. Buy BG and you would get the best quality or, if not the best, the quality at least never worse than the others.

I hope this info will help.

Old 27th July 2003, 11:00 AM   #3
khush is offline khush  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default oscons as decouplers, couplers

I have used oscons in analogue circuits and found them to be an improvement on cheap electro's, better clarity at HF particularly. I used them as replacements in an old mid price nad amp and aiwa Cd player so not really a test of their ultimate qualities.
In the recent EWorld articles they had higher distortion than other types.
Personally I prefer elna silmics which have a more distinct signature, some may find them dull. They are getting harder to get in UK, audiocom have dropped them. I bought a load from here a few years ago at very reasonable prices.
www.geocities/audiograde/

regards
Khush
Old 27th July 2003, 11:56 AM   #4
MIKET is offline MIKET  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to MIKET
Default Dead Thread

www.geocities/audiograde/ This thread is dead
Old 27th July 2003, 02:53 PM   #5
khush is offline khush  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member