Newbie's first amp - Where to start? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th October 2010, 11:49 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Newbie's first amp - Where to start?

So I discovered the diyaudio forum a few days ago, and all I can say is - OVERWHELMED.

I've been an enthusiast of electronics, gadgets, and DIY in general, and have a few years experience installing audio professionally. My electronics background, however, is limited to playing around with a couple of radio shack electronics kits when I was a kid.

One thing I've discovered is that the learning curve for anything complex gets a lot easier the more interested you are in the subject. I have been self-taught in creating things from computer programs, to telescopes, to loudspeaker designs. Now, I've been bitten by the amplifier bug and I want to get one under my belt. I believe I can tackle this and come away happy.

So I'm looking for someone to point me in the right direction. Here are some things I'm looking for in my first project:

* Quality - I want the amplifier to "get out of the way" of the sound so that the liveliness of the music can shine through. I don't believe this requires large amounts of power, or necessarily really expensive components. I won't be needing loud volume levels or to create a lot of bass. For me, it's balance, neutrality, openness, airyness, and lack of fatigue during long listening. I want the sound to be a clear cut above the standard stuff you find in a major electronics store, and for it to be apparent that no important corners were cut in the design.