Musical Fidelity A1 Integrated repair/upgrages

I am hoping to get some advice on whether and how to repair my dead MF A1, or whether I should perhaps build another, more reliable, amp instead. If this in not an appropriate forum for such questions, I apologize in advance and ask if someone can refer me to a different forum.

Note that I have limited experience with electronics, so at this point I would only be considering replacing parts on the current amp or building from a kit, rather than building something from scratch.

I have the original A1, the one with the two-part lid and the axial 10000uF caps. The caps do not have any apparent bulges in them.

Here is the problem with the amp. One day, it just failed to start up. So I replaced the slow-blow fuse in the back, thinking this would fix the problem. When I turned the amp back on (with the lid off), I noticed that after a few seconds some of the resistors (R1, R2, R30, & R31) started to glow and then smoke. Now they just smoke instantly when I power up the amp. Needless to say I cannot use the amp in this state.

What I am wondering specifically is whether the amp can be fixed by replacing all or some of the power supply parts (plus the R30 and R31 resistors), or whether I have to test each piece of the amp to determine if there are more extensive failures down the line. What is the best way to determine how to fix this? Or should I even bother? Thanks.

Attachments

• DSCF2533.JPG
    DSCF2533.JPG
    121.1 KB · Views: 2,164
  • DSCF2535.JPG
    DSCF2535.JPG
    172 KB · Views: 2,552
I can guarantee that the output transistors have failed. These things run stupidly hot and this drastically shortens the life of all of the parts in there. R30 and R31 are emitter resistors for one channel, so those smoking means that the output transistors on that channel have failed.

Mark Hennessy has a great page about these amps here