Transformer Amps - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd September 2010, 06:01 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Transformer Amps

Hi, now im kinda new to electronic done a basic course on it at college a few years back and kinda would mind building my own pre amp for a mic or instrument. i was reading about transformer amps and they seam pretty simple to build also i know that they sound nice and the amplifier i wanted to buy (but cant cos of lack of 1000 GBP) has a input and output transformer in. so i was thinking mabey building one. not looking for something super more clean sounding. any of you guys know any simple projects that are made from transformers? i dont mind using transistors a few but i dont want to go over board.
thanks!!!

P.S i think i need about 80dB Gain if thats possible!
Old 3rd September 2010, 06:23 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

80dB of gain? That's an awful lot. Can you be a bit more specific as to what your application is?

se
Old 3rd September 2010, 09:21 AM   #3
Artie is offline Artie  United States
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Eddy View Post
80dB of gain? That's an awful lot.
Thats what I was thinking. That would equate to approximately 18.5 volts out of a Shure SM-58.
Old 3rd September 2010, 09:23 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Eddy View Post
80dB of gain? That's an awful lot. Can you be a bit more specific as to what your application is?

se
whops i meant 60dB sorry! im using it wither for guitar or a mic SE2200. and im using it for recording so i need a decent level hence also why i want it to be nice and clean sounding EG no fuzz or noise, and when i mean clean i mean adding analog warmth/color to the signal is fine just not noise or fuzz!
Thanks!