Possible fet based soft start circuit - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd August 2010, 12:39 PM   #1
GregH2 is offline GregH2  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default Possible fet based soft start circuit

Hi all,

I have been thinking about a simple FET based circuit for use as a possible soft start mechanism and would appreciate your feedback on this design. Go easy on my as I am a definite noob. It is designed to bring the transformer up to voltage in several tens of seconds and can be seen in the attached pdf.

Essentially we have two back to back fets used as a bi directional solid state relay. It slowly turns on when supplied with 15v from a dedicated transformer. The turn on time is determined by the RC combo. I also need to devise a simple way to drain the cap on turn off, but that will be easy.

The only problems I can see with the circuit is a minor voltage drop and a little switching noise created when the mains cycle is between -0.6 and 0.6 volts due to switching of the recovery diodes.

So what do you think? Too noisy for use? Too lossy? I'd like to hear your thoughts.

Greg.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf soft start.pdf (9.3 KB, 218 views)

Last edited by GregH2; 23rd August 2010 at 12:43 PM.
Old 23rd August 2010, 11:41 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi Greg
I assume your design can be refined to work well but needing an auxiliary transformer and supply to operate it may be an issue with, for example, simple DIY amps. More ambitious integrated amps and Pro. gear could be suitable applications, where this could act as a standby. In these, using a separate trafo for auxiliary circuits, preamp etc. is probably no big deal.