Help with diff Amp current balance

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

Just wondering if I could get a couple of pointers regarding the balance of current through the two diff amp arms in this fairly standard design I'm working on. I am only starting out at amp design and I have Douglas Self's book handy but I can't seem to work out why the current is significantly different.
From spice (LTSpice) it is saying R12 & R20 have equal current at around 220u each. Current through R19 is not much different. Problem is R18 has around 300u which goes through Q13 and then around 80u is shunted off to the Vas base Q8. Is this normal? Should I just up the total current through the two arms so as to make the difference less significant? I understand there might be a few issues with this amp (there usually is) and so any suggestions would be appreciated.

Attachments

• YIPAMP1.3.JPG
    YIPAMP1.3.JPG
    61.9 KB · Views: 312
to get the balance you want and what Self says is important to get the best out of an LTP you need the currents in R18 and R19 to be identical.

With a mirror load you cannot trim R17 to balance your currents.
Nor can adding a degeneration resistor to the VAS work to improve balance.

Look at your mirror.
Base current for each of the two transistor is ~ Ir19/hFE and [Ir18-Ibq8]/hFE
Both these base currents are supplied through R19.

If the total of the 2base currents exactly equals the base current going to Q8 then you will find that your currents are balanced.

Look at hFE of the VAS to determine what is needs as a base current.
Work from there.

There is a further adjustment.
Add a resistor from the junction of the bases of Q9&Q10 down to the negative supply rail.
This resistor can be ~47k to 2M2 depending on what value of extra current you want to pull through R19. This could even be a 1M trimmer.
Do NOT trim the 100r emitter resistors of the mirror.