Sony ta-1055 issues - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th June 2010, 04:35 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Sony ta-1055 issues

I'm new to the vintage audio world, though prefer the sound to the newer formats. As a birthday gift, my girlfriend bought me a turntable and a Sony TA-1055 to hook it up to. I plugged the turntable into the phono input, plugged my speakers into the TA-1055, and turned it on. Unfortunately can barely hear a thing, even at max volume. As an experiment I hooked my ipod up to the AUX port and experienced the same thing - almost no sound at all coming out of the speakers.

I'm assuming this is user error of some sort, but I'm having the damndest time figuring out what to do. Is this happening because the TA-1055 requires a pre-amp on all inputs, because it's broken, because it's not actually as simple as "plug the turntable into one end and the speakers into the other," or because of some other issue that's not particularly apparent to me at the moment?

Thank you, and I hope I'm not flying my noob flag too high right now.
Old 9th June 2010, 05:11 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Some checks. I dont have info on this model amplifier.
Im not sure how much knowledge you have, so i will try to keep it simple.
1. check any amplifier fuses are ok.
2. measure across the speaker terminals with an ohm meter, Check for approx 8 ohms. If you dont have a meter, use a 1.5V battery, can you hear a noise from the speaker when the battery is connected to the speaker terminals. Disconnect speakers from the amp for this test.
3. If you can connect two pairs of speakers, make sure the speaker selection buttons are pressed in for the one you have connected to, ie speaker A or B
4. check tape monitor is turned off