A&R CAMBRIDGE ARCAM ALPHA problems. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th May 2010, 01:48 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question A&R CAMBRIDGE ARCAM ALPHA problems.

Hi all

New user, first post.

Am having trouble with my Arcam Alpha. The right channel plays at very low volumn compared to the left and has slight distortion. I have run through the basic trouble shooting, eliminating source, speakers and cabling. The problem exists on the headphone output also.

I am a novice in regards to techinicals, but have a keen interest and know its time to learn. Am i right in thinking ,the fact it exists on the headphone stage means its a preamp issue? Or is its likely cause an output cap?

Any info appreciated.
Old 30th May 2010, 03:30 AM   #2
amc184 is offline amc184  New Zealand
diyAudio Member

I've got both an Alpha and an Alpha 2, they're great amps and good value here in New Zealand.

Quote:
Am i right in thinking ,the fact it exists on the headphone stage means its a preamp issue? Or is its likely cause an output cap?
No to both actually. In this amp the headphone and speaker outputs are one and the same, so it could be either a pre or power amp problem. The output stage in the Alpha is DC coupled, so no output cap.

The best way to troubleshoot an amp with one bad channel is to compare it with the other, working channel. What test gear do you have?
Old 30th May 2010, 03:49 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

[What test gear do you have?[/QUOTE]

Thanks alot for your reply.

I have a volt meter and access to an oscilioscope(tho working it is another thing)
There are no obvious issues with the circuitry, in fact everything "looks" in great condition.
Old 30th May 2010, 06:48 AM   #4
amc184 is offline amc184  New Zealand
diyAudio Member