Arcam Alpha problems

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all

New user, first post.

Am having trouble with my Arcam Alpha. The right channel plays at very low volumn compared to the left and has slight distortion. I have run through the basic trouble shooting, eliminating source, speakers and cabling. The problem exists on the headphone output also.

I am a novice in regards to techinicals, but have a keen interest and know its time to learn. Am i right in thinking ,the fact it exists on the headphone stage means its a preamp issue? Or is its likely cause an output cap?

Any info appreciated.

I've got both an Alpha and an Alpha 2, they're great amps and good value here in New Zealand.

Am i right in thinking ,the fact it exists on the headphone stage means its a preamp issue? Or is its likely cause an output cap?

No to both actually. In this amp the headphone and speaker outputs are one and the same, so it could be either a pre or power amp problem. The output stage in the Alpha is DC coupled, so no output cap.

The best way to troubleshoot an amp with one bad channel is to compare it with the other, working channel. What test gear do you have?

Okay, start by tracing the signal through the amp and see where something's going wrong.

Plug in a source to one of the line level inputs, play it some music, leave the outputs unconnected. Measure the AC voltage to ground on each channel at various points to see where the signal is being attenuated on one channel. I would suggest:

- one side of resistor R9 / R109 (input after selector switch)
- testpoints 8 and 9 (after first buffer)
- testpoints 10 and 11 (after second buffer)
- base of Q2 (input of power amp)

By the way, how did the fault develop? Was it sudden or did it happen slowly? Were you working on it? Did it get dropped, posted somewhere or otherwise damaged?