Low and distorted output after amplifier heats up - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th May 2010, 08:17 AM   #1
wabun is offline wabun  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Low and distorted output after amplifier heats up

my Krell KSA150 sings well when switch on, but after play for 3 songs, the left channel output become lower and lower with some significant distortion but when I switch it off, let it cool down, and turn on again, it sings well for 3 songs then left channel output become lower again, does anyone know why this can happen ? Sorry for my poor English, I am new to this Blog..
Old 16th May 2010, 04:31 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Jan Dupont
This can be caused by a bad soldering. When the component heats up the connection gets bad......
Do you have any skills for do such fault finding ?
Old 16th May 2010, 07:47 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Do an inspection of the soldered joints and look for a bad one.

Other than that could be a bad wire connection.
Old 16th May 2010, 07:59 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to smartx21 Send a message via Skype™ to smartx21
Consider also searching for schematics and measure voltages along the circuit. An almost dead transistor, a blown resistor...
If cannot have schematics, try to search for lacks within the circuit, comparing to the functional channel. But be careful to manage the probes while power is on.
With power off, you can compare measures from selected parts, starting from power supply (if separate), and output stages.
Once my home amp had the contacts of electrolytics totally oxidated.
Good luck!
Regards,
Max.
Old 18th May 2010, 08:11 AM   #5
wabun is offline wabun  United States
diyAudio Member