Harmon Kardon 930 receiver weak left channel

My HK 930 has worked well for a long time but recently the left channel has gotten very weak. I have to turn the balance control about 3/4 to 7/8 turn to the left to equalize channel volume. I'm not an electronics pro but am willing to take a stab at tracking down the problem if it's not way too involved. Anyone have suggestions?
Thanks!

If the problem is internal, I would first suspect switches, particularly the tape monitor. Switch the speakers to make sure you don't have a bad speaker. Check the integrity of the speaker connections too.

The tape monitor switch is always a potential culprit because all the audio goes through it and it seldom gets exercised, opening the door to creeping corrosion.

The 930 has a pre-out mainamp- in link at the back you can take out the links and wire the left channel pre to the right power amplifer using a phono to phono lead also cross over the right pre to left power this will show if the problem is in the pre or power amp
then you need to take further steps
I have very many Hk in my collection the fault could be any no of things
regards Trevor

Thanks Trevor...what am I looking for when I re-connect the pre and power amps? I found the links, connected an RCA cable to the pre and power amps as you indicated. Using headphones, I found the right channel still noticeably stronger than the left. I'm not really sure what I'm listening for however? Unfortunately, I'm a newbie at this sort of thing and fear my lack of expertise keeps me from self-diagnosing the problem...

Fred

you must get a phono to phon lead
pull out the connecting links between the pre-out to power in
then using the phono lead connect the left pre-out to the right poweramp in connect the right preamp out to the left power amp in
if the fault changes sides the fault is in the pre section if it stays the same side its in the power section
the hk of this age have two main problems faulty caps and faulty transistors