That curious extra knob, or: "Trans-Amp" - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th April 2010, 11:36 AM   #1
Duo is offline Duo  Canada
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to Duo
Default That curious extra knob, or: "Trans-Amp"

Some of you, especially visitors to Planet10's annual audio fest, may recall mild discussion about an amplifier design I've been working on for a few years which is quite plainly referred to as the "Trans-amp".

It's really a very simple embodiment of some well-known control systems engineering; a translation of the control loop as applied to virtually all modern solid state audio amplifiers from a simple voltage node to a variable mix between voltage and current. This has the effect of making the output impedance of the amplifier continuously variable over a considerably large range simply by operating a knob.

This has been in development for a number of years now since I first got some ideas from reading various articles on the internet. I was curious just to see what it sounded like to change damping factor on the fly while listening to music. With my curiosity now satisfied I have come to love having "That curious extra knob" available in my system.