Check for oscillating amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi mates!

I have read a lot about oscillating amps, what it seems to be the most common construction problem. I have been looking in the forum and on the net, and I couldn't find any place where is it explained the correct method to look for oscillation.
I have built some amps already, they were gainclones and headphone amps wich sounded quite nice and were not suspectfully hot. Despite I assume they are alright, I would like to check it anyway.

I have a 20Mhz scope. How should I test the amps? Should I just hook up the output to the scope and look for "something"? Wich pattern are we looking for? Any capture would be great...

And on the input side, may I short them or should I inject a test signal?

Any info will be gladly welcomed. As a novice, I have soooooooo much to learn from the "amps-masters" :p

Thanks in advance.

Aside from obvious problems where you just look at the output and say, "holy cow, it's oscillating!", I find that with sine wave drive there is often some particular amplitude and maybe load, where you'll see just a bit of widening or fuzz on the top and/or bottom of the trace. It's usually near full power, but doesn't have to be. IMO, amplifiers that do that invariably sound different than amplifiers that don't. It's often the values of the output R & L that will cause or fix this.

Conrad

Aside from obvious problems where you just look at the output and say, "holy cow, it's oscillating!", I find that with sine wave drive...............
Conrad
That's right where I am, in the problem of identifying obvious oscillation. What are we looking for in the scope? What are your methods of looking for oscillation?

Thanks for your quick response

technique