NAD 7240PE Dead Tuner

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm in the need of some expert advice!

I acquired a 7240PE for next to nothing. Amp section works great with CD source but tuner is dead. Front panel lights up but no sound at all from the tuner. The FM stereo light never comes on even when tuned to known stations.

I'm no electronics expert but can handle some basic troubleshooting. I checked the output from the tuner power supply transformer. From the yellow wires, I get 5.6 and 5.9V AC. From the blue wires, I get 22.4 Volts on one and 0V on the other (according to my schematic, I think I should see 12.2V on both blue wires). My schematic is for the 7220 but it would seem that they have the same tuners.

Is my problem as simple as a bad tuner supply transformer? Any fixes (other than the obvious replacement), or any other recommended tests to perform?

I'd greatly appreciate any troubleshooting assistance any experts could give. I can forward a copy of my schematic if any gurus are willing to help.

Thanks!
Matt

Okay, disconnected the load from the transformer. Ac voltage across blue wires is 24V , AC voltage across yellow wires is 12.7V. These numbers seem to make more sense.

I realize now that I was measuring my voltages to ground before, rather than across the two wires. (I have more experience in the DC world).

I have a good quality multimeter and some basic electronics knowledge, I'd really appreciate any help in determining the next steps in troubleshooting my tuner!

Matt

I'd still love some help troubleshooting my tuner.

As mentioned before, the pre/amp sections of the 7240 work great. The tuner display lights up but is dead silent and won't lock on to any station.

I think I ruled out the A/C power supply to the Tuner, so i guess I need to start troubleshooting the tuner itself.