$20 to the first person to give me the tip that gets my NAD 3020 working

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Here's the deal...

I'm a relatively novice repair tech who knows how to avoid getting electrocuted and can fix most basic problems with audio gear. I've got a NAD 3020 on my repair bench that I'm fixing for a friend that I could use some help figuring out. I'll give $20 to the first person who gives me the tip that leads to this thing getting fixed. (for realz!) I know it's not much, but I'm not making much on it either, so that's the deal. ;)

Here's the service manual and schematic.

Here's the clues:
  • I checked it over for loose components and cracked solder joints. There were a few loose connections, but otherwise (I think) everything's connected properly now.
  • I just put 4 brand new power transistors in it (Q615,Q616,Q617,Q618)
  • FUSE 3 and FUSE 4 were blown and I replaced them with new 3A fuses
  • It turns on
  • It passes distorted garbled audio
  • Turning the volume control up results in more distortion, but not more volume
  • after a few seconds, R643 and R644 start smoking and charring

If you need more clues, just ask and I'll do further testing or take pictures or measurements if you need me to. I just want this thing fixed and OFF my bench! I really will send the money.

Thanks guys!

Hi,

DC voltages usually tell a lot.

In order of probable cause...

1) Check Q609, Q610, D605 and D606 for shorts.
2) Check Q613 and Q614 for shorts.
3) Check Q607 and Q608 for shorts.
4) Check for bad solder joints.

Bah Nrik, you beat my post by SECONDS! :p

Cheers!

Well, in these bjt-output stages usually also the drivers get fried when the outputs go. This fits also well with R643 getting hot as there is excessive current coming from the rail.

I would check everything south of Q605, means Q607, Q611, Q615.