Best books about solid state amplifiers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
My audio DIY hobby has pretty much always concentrated to speaker building, but I've began to be more and more interested to amplifier technology too. The problem is, I have very little skill and knowledge about amplifiers. I've built a millett headphone amplifier from clear instructions, but that's pretty much all.

So I'm asking: What are the best books for a total beginner to amplifier technology AND amplifier measurements? (power/distortion etc.) I don't know that much about electricity, so the book(s) should be as easy to read as possible for a beginner.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Hello,
My audio DIY hobby has pretty much always concentrated to speaker building, but I've began to be more and more interested to amplifier technology too. The problem is, I have very little skill and knowledge about amplifiers. I've built a millett headphone amplifier from clear instructions, but that's pretty much all.

So I'm asking: What are the best books for a total beginner to amplifier technology AND amplifier measurements? (power/distortion etc.) I don't know that much about electricity, so the book(s) should be as easy to read as possible for a beginner.

Thanks for any suggestions.

look there
audio Amplifier Design - Google Books
and there
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/156402-one-watch-out-new-book.html

Google offers in some cases even read samples from any pages, so you can easy find out, what you understand.

Last edited:
I wouldn't call Douglas Self 'beginner-friendly' though...the Audio Power Amplifier Design Handbook assumed more than a bit of electrical knowledge. Are his other books more introductory?

No ;)
I would suggest a basic electronics book (Tooley - Electronic Circuits - fundamentals and applications or Horowitz and Hill, the Art of electronics. For example ) and a Self book