Another high DC Adcom GFA-555 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st December 2009, 09:44 PM   #1
fredlf is offline fredlf  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to fredlf
Default Another high DC Adcom GFA-555

Hello all,
I'm an earnest noob trying to learn theory and practice while keeping my aging system running. I have good mechanical skills, but only rudimentary knowledge of testing and troubleshooting. I've been reading and studying theory, but have a long way to go.

My faithful GFA-555 couldn't wait for me to get studied up. It's blowing the fuse on the left Output Board II and that channel has 82vdc at the speaker out! (The good channel was a respectable 41mvdc, btw).

After reading many threads here, there and everywhere, I pulled that board and tested Q11 (the driver transistor, right?). It passes the diode test. My DMM can measure HFE, but I'm not sure what I'd be looking for. (I said I was a noob.) If I replace it, am I correct that it does not need to be matched to Q12?

A more experienced acquaintance recommended I look first for blown output transistors, and the ones on this board do look a little suspect with all the drippy thermal grease running down (see attached). There was also a little greasy, sticky spot at the bottom of the case below this heatsink. The other heatsinks are much cleaner looking with no grease spots.

There are no other obvious burnt, bulging or cracked parts on this board or the front end board.

I reckon my next step is to remove and check these transistors (Q13-16)? If one or more is bad, it's my understanding I would have to replace all four with matched pairs to Q17-20.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.