Another high DC Adcom GFA-555

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,
I'm an earnest noob trying to learn theory and practice while keeping my aging system running. I have good mechanical skills, but only rudimentary knowledge of testing and troubleshooting. I've been reading and studying theory, but have a long way to go.

My faithful GFA-555 couldn't wait for me to get studied up. It's blowing the fuse on the left Output Board II and that channel has 82vdc at the speaker out! (The good channel was a respectable 41mvdc, btw).

After reading many threads here, there and everywhere, I pulled that board and tested Q11 (the driver transistor, right?). It passes the diode test. My DMM can measure HFE, but I'm not sure what I'd be looking for. (I said I was a noob.) If I replace it, am I correct that it does not need to be matched to Q12?

A more experienced acquaintance recommended I look first for blown output transistors, and the ones on this board do look a little suspect with all the drippy thermal grease running down (see attached). There was also a little greasy, sticky spot at the bottom of the case below this heatsink. The other heatsinks are much cleaner looking with no grease spots.

There are no other obvious burnt, bulging or cracked parts on this board or the front end board.

I reckon my next step is to remove and check these transistors (Q13-16)? If one or more is bad, it's my understanding I would have to replace all four with matched pairs to Q17-20.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

I know I'm asking a lot here. I know it's a questionable undertaking to try and repair something you don't really understand. As a bike mechanic (back in college) it always bothered me when people assumed it was simple to perform a given procedure. But I don't have many options for getting this puppy fixed, and I miss my music, so I throw myself on the mercy of the Internet.