active xo help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I like making speakers but Im frustrated at having to buy big expensive passive crossover parts every time. It really limits my ability to experiment and have fun.
I have a couple of different cheap amps so I think multi amping is a good route for me to take. With that in mind, Im looking to make up a preamp/active crossover.

The want list:

-Simple. I like simple. It also matches my skill set and knowledge… Im not an audio engineer. I'd trade off a lot for simple.
-Cheap. As part of the building/experimenting/learning/messing around process, I expect it to go up in smoke multiple times. Also Im poor.
-Flexible. I want to use it for a bunch of projects. Changable crossover points. Different amps. Easy to swap out parts (see above)
-The parts have to be easy to find. If I can walk down to the local radio shack and grab up what I need that would be great.
-All the sources that Ill be using are fairly strong so I think Im looking at a buffer rather than gain.
-For no rational reason, I like the idea of jfets. So all jfets (unless someone can tell me why thats a bad idea).
-I can live with 12db slopes.
-Some sort of simple level control for each output.

The "not looking for" list:

-Worlds best anything.
-Sublime, perfect, " I heard things in my music collection I had never heard before..", sounds. Good is good enough.
-Full of amazing features.
-kit/prebuilt.

I envision the whole shebang to look something like this.

Source selection-->volume attenuator-->jfet buffer
-->pllxo--> jfet buffer--> attenuator-->amp1
-->pllxo--> jfet buffer--> attenuator-->amp2
-->pllxo--> jfet buffer--> attenuator-->amp3

Seems like a lot of buffers. Do I need them all? I guess if they are simple then its just a bunch of the same simple buffers. Step and repeat.