Help with a foolish question- technics se-m100

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I hope I have this right- I am new to this! I am dusting off my electronics by rebuilding an old technics se-m100 power amplifier (1989) as a practice run (before upgrading my marantx cd-80). I bought this very cheaply, but it sounds rather thin compared to my old sugden's! I have had difficulty getting exact capacitor matches for the electrolytics in terms of voltage (not capacitance). I have ended up having to use 10v or 16v capacitors, in place of originals rated at 6.3v. Equally I have had to replace capacitors rated at 25v with those at 35v. They are nearly all in the signal path, and so I have used elna cerafines or silmics. Is this going to be OK?- I couldn't see why not, but, am I missing something obvious? In principle it is quite a nice amp (dual mono, big power supplies), so even though this is a practice run, I don't want to break it! Apologies for the ignorance of the question and thanks for any help! best wishes,
Jo

in audio signals a higher voltage capacitor will be more linear other than that it is also possible that longer life is expected

there is also a question on upgrading all ceramics if existing inside with better quality like multileyer or styroflex or silver micas
sometimes you need to take a look at miller caps in vas and/or driver stages which often if changed to a better quality will also give you a margin to lower capacitance that will increase the quality of your amp dramaticly but will require instuments for evaluation of results

Adding decoupling and byppass will be also a usefull thing to do

may be some more audiophile wiring

here is a link that you might find usefull also

regards sakis

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/136261-vintage-amplifier-repair-upgrade-manual.html