Update of the Aragon 4004

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been using an Aragon 4004 for about the last 20 years as my main amp, it has provided flawless service and great sound. A while back I got a copy of the schematic and started playing with it in LTSpice. It is a symmetric design, interesting in that the input stage uses quad transistor arrays from Sprague. The data sheet describes the transistors as similar to 2N5401 and 2N5550. I decided to attempt an update using the THAT transistor arrays for the input stage and Thermal Traks for the output.

I'm posting it here for comments, suggestions, and feedback. I've decided to build it so I'm working on a board, I'll turn this into a design/construction thread. This design will do about 200W into 8 ohms, plenty for my needs.

The topology follows the original 4004 design - symmetric input stage with cascodes, symmetric VAS. The changes I made are:

1) Added current mirrors to the input stage, as I find that this reduces THD by at least an order of magnitude in every case I have tried it. Yes I understand the problem with current mirrors and a symmetric VAS, and have come up with a solution to keep the VAS current defined. More about that later.

2) Used current sources to load the LTPs rather than a resistor as in the original design. Or at least that's what I infer from the schematic, it is a poor quality scan of a fax of an Nth generation photocopy, pretty bad and hard to read. I still have to take the cover off my 4004 to verify some of the details.

3) Output stage is a triple EF vs. a double in the original. The original also has 2 sets of drivers each driving 2 OPs, (4 OPs total), I'm using just one set of drivers with 2 OPs. Since I'm using Thermal Traks the biasing scheme includes the diodes.

4) I'm using 50v rails for now, vs. 70 in the original. Also RC filtering for the rails to the input stage.