Needing advice on first amp repair - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th October 2009, 05:31 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Needing advice on first amp repair

Hello all,
I need some advice on a repair. I have no experience repairing electronics myself but Iím fairly handy and my Carver TFM-25 amp needs some work so now is my time to start learning. Iíve heard that electrolytic caps last about 20 years and my amp is a 1990 model so I took the lid off to have a look. The caps looked OK but I found several burned areas on the mother board and there is a Service Bulletin advisory for that in the TFM-25 Manual. Iíve ordered the repair parts and the caps and hopefully I wonít end up with a boat anchor. The view of the motherboard map in the manual is looking thru the board from the component side but I canít see thru the board so I also need a view looking at the trace side to help me find and de-solder the parts. Iím thinking maybe Kinkoís can copy the map onto clear plastic and I can flip it to look at the trace side. Iíve discharged the caps with a lamp so I wonít get fried and Iím making up a checklist so I donít lose my place but before I get started I have some questions:
1) Which is easier: Remove all parts then replace them or R&R parts one-at-a-time?
2) Should I assume new parts are good or do I need to test them before installing?
3) Should I do any testing during the parts replacement process?
4) Do I need to clean and over-coat solder joints and traces after Iím finished? If so,
what are the steps and materials?
Old 21st January 2010, 02:23 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi