Help understanding this DC offset circuit? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd September 2009, 07:36 PM   #1
Artie is offline Artie  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Help understanding this DC offset circuit?

Hi all. Even though I've been a tech for several decades, this particular DC offset circuit has me perplexed. This is the schematic for the amp section of a Yamaha CR-1040 receiver:

Click the image to open in full size.

Note the placement of the "DC offset" trim-pot, which is wired as a 2-terminal rheostat, within a bizarre T-network, on the differential input circuit. Assume for a moment that the DC offset is actually right on zero. (As measured to ground.) That makes two legs of that T-network at zero volts. Where does the voltage come from to vary the offset? The only leg left is the base of the differential input transistor, and that doesn't make sense to me.

On a side note: If you look at the 4-cap totem-pole thats close to dead center in that schematic, most everything to the left is the pre-driver hybrid IC, and everything to the right is the output IC. Only the caps and resistors with values assigned are discrete external components. Everything else is within one of the IC's.

Can anyone help me to understand how this DC offset circuit works?
Thanks.

Last edited by Artie; 23rd September 2009 at 07:57 PM.
Old 23rd September 2009, 07:46 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

It equalizes the impedances to ground, that bases of the differetial stage see. 33k+10k trimpot decoupled by 2u2 are acting as a constant voltage source of a value og base curret times DC resistance. The passives at the right hand side of that is a typical divider for a feedback path.
Old 23rd September 2009, 07:46 PM   #3
diyAudio Member