Will lightbulb protect my amp from to high idle current at startup? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th September 2009, 02:26 PM   #1
seafire is offline seafire  Mauritius
diyAudio Member

Default Will lightbulb protect my amp from to high idle current at startup?

Hi everybody

I am just about done repairing my amp once again that I re-fried whilst adjusting idle current on old sticky pods.Problem is that as a newbie I am a little confused.The pods seem to work in reverse to each other on the left and right channels.(amp is a dual mono construction amp).RH channel pod resistance measures 2.94 k ohm as set originally.LH channel measures 3.67 k ohm std setting.Both driver boards have the pods facing upwards so that they can be adjusted from the top (cover removed).
The confusion I have is that from what I understand the pods should reduce current anti clockwise and increase current clockwise.This however doesn't seem to be the case here.R ch pod measures 17.5 ohm fully closed and 10 kilo ohm fully open.The L ch pod if faced from the top of the amp looking down is just the opposite!..ie. 17.5 fully open (clockwise) and 10 k ohm fully closed.So this newbie's conlusion is that the gain is set in reverse on the LH channel.My other question is as follows:I will be using a 40w light bulb in series on start up on the mains.Will this protect the amp (MOSFETS) from over current frying on startup if I have the idle current settings wrong again?.The amp is a Marantz pm 94
HELP Seafire
Old 18th September 2009, 02:42 PM   #2
jaycee is offline jaycee  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member