Question regarding basic transistor circuit - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th September 2009, 09:56 AM   #1
300b is offline 300b  Israel
diyAudio Member

Default Question regarding basic transistor circuit

Hello Guys,

I know its not really about amplifiers, but it is SS, so I guess its the right forum.
I have some experience in building a couple of basic amps, but I've decided to learn electronics better since I like it.

I'm reading "The Art of Electronics", and have a problem understanding one of the circuits, here it is:
Click the image to open in full size.

Can someone please explain to me how exactly it works (keep in mind my knowledge is very limited, so a more detailed explanation will be highly appreciated)? What difference does the 180ohm resistor make?

Thank you.
Old 11th September 2009, 12:43 PM   #2
Bigun is offline Bigun  Canada
diyAudio Member

I'm a bit of newbie myself, so this is just a guess