budgets for mosfet amp construction

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all fellow fanatics
I have surfed around this site for some time and have an interest in the solid state amps that you are tinkering with
My back round is in diagnostics for air-conditioning and refrigeration, the current trend is more towards electronic control etc.
I do not have in my tool line up such things as oscilloscopes frequency generators etc but would still like to try my hand at amp building I am sure that a lot of you are self taught techs
My question is what an expected budget would be for a 100-300 watt mosfet amp in complete form cost, having never attempted these projects before it would be helpful if you could advise on expected costs etc.
Regards Speedie

Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
Hi Speedie, as allways it is going to depend ;) The problem with projects is that things can get out of hand. you start to think, I'll just add this it isn't that much more, and then that, and something else, and before long the total has ballooned. ;)

As a Ball park I'd budget for between $500 and $1000 AU. for a 100-300W mosfet. Note I haven't built a new amp (apart from my gainclone) for over 20 years. My main amp is a 100W/ channel (into 8 ohms) Playmaster series 200, which is a mosfet amp. The kit originally sold for nearly $500 in 1987! (I think I picked it up for $399 on a run out sale).

The most expensive bits will be:

The transformer(s) Seriously consider getting two 300VA's for 100+ watts per channel., you can get away with one, but it will suffer if pushed hard. Dual mono will help with channel separation too.

The capacitors for the power supply. Cheap ones are cheap, good ones are expensive, epsecially here in AUS!!

The mosfets themselves, add more if you buy matched pairs (which is reccommened). Again expensive here in AUS..