BGW 500D Bias Adjust ??? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th August 2009, 05:50 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default BGW 500D Bias Adjust ???

Hello All,

This is my first post on this forum. I am exited to be a member. I'm a newbie, so go easy on me please...

I have a BGW 500D I've just worked over. No matter what manual I down load. It is for a BGW 750A/500d. The schematic and alot of the information is for the 750A. I know which resistor to change for bias, and I know which resitor to measure bias across. On page 13 of this early manual, it says, " adjust R20 to obtain 470mv across R28". That clear, and understandable. However, it say's on the schematic, " adjust R20 to obtain 340mv across R28. My question is: WHICH ON IS CORRECT for h$ll sake???

Note: I also replaced the outputs with 2n3773's, and the drivers with NTE162's. Finding the cross reference for those old RCA devices was impossible... I also changed out the pre-drivers with the original RCA's for the NPN's and 2n5415's for the PNP's. I've matched None of the above. I hope I don't have problems. I have replaced all tantalums with Panny fc 10uf 100v units. I have also replaced all resistors with 1% metal films. I used 2.2uf metalized polyester caps as bypass caps for the 12000uf power supply caps (originals were 10000uf). for the polyester caps on the circuit boards, I used metalized polypropylene units. I guess really all that is left of the amps that are stock, are the ceramic disk caps used for RF. I can post a pic or two if you like...