Phase Linear 400 blowing rail fuses - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th August 2009, 05:11 PM   #1
AD5DG is offline AD5DG  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Phase Linear 400 blowing rail fuses

Hi to all,
I'm new to this great forum, and was brought here looking for help in restoring service to my ancient PL400. Well, I'm feeling ancient these days so this amp that I bought in 74 must be as well.
The 400 worked well in home application and even did a night or two in a PA sound reinforcement gig. 10 years ago we went sailing and the unit (along with a bunch of other ancient stuff) was placed into storage. Well, we are back to being homeowners and one of the first things I wanted to hook up was the stereo.
Upon power-up I had very low, distorted output on the left channel, and zip on the right.
Pulled the rail fuses and both were blown! I hyphenated.
So, I checked cabling- the obvious stuff and still no joy.
Opened the box and did some poking around looking for obviously smoked components. All the emitter resistors are ok, no leaking electrolytic caps and the caps test at about 6400 mfd on the DMM. When I discharged the caps before sticking my fingers in there, I noticed that the bottom cap had a significant charge while the upper seemed to have little to none.

After all this where would be a good place to start troubleshooting? I'd just like to get this flying again- kinda sentimental and my Infinity monitors seemed to like it also. I miss the DC thump at shutdown.

All the best,
Kev
Old 5th August 2009, 06:30 PM   #2
wg_ski is offline wg_ski  United States
diyAudio Member