distortion in trusy old Parasound amp - newbie repair help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I’ve had a trusty old Parasound HCA2200 II since the dawn of time (my first hi-end amp). Over the last few years It’s been getting harder for it to start. As in, if it’s turned on often the left channel would not work until it had warmed up then powercycled a few times. My solution: leave it on (doubles as a great space heater). A few weeks ago I was listening at a moderate volume and suddenly the left channel dropped in output and sounds like a clipping headphone from 10 feet away.

I’m really new to this – don’t even know if I have the right terms for things but I would like to give a shot at fixing it myself. I’ve been looking around online for what to look at but have come up with mostly check the fuses and car amp stuff. I have an old tone generator and oscilloscope but have little idea how to use or interpret it. With a multimeter here is what I have learned so far:

When powered on:
There is no dc in the outputs (if there is it’s below the threshold of my meter)
The working rightside reads 72.5v for b+ and b–
The leftside reads 75.7 for b+ and b–

After being powered down and unplugged all except the B+ capacitor for the left channel discharge within minutes, I came back a few hours later and the b+ line had gone from 72v (measured when the rest were already discharged) to -16. I don't even get how this is possible.

Resistance: It’s a dual mono design, I measured these where the caps screw into the L and R power supply boards
L R
b- to b+ open 10.79M
b- to b- open -3.1M
b+ to ground open -2.8M
b- to ground -1.7M -1.4M