SOme great parts ready for a new project....ideas?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2009
Hi everyone. This is my first post/thread. I am a law student interested in music and movies not to mention electronics (among other things). Since I recently upgraded to high def flat panel tv and can feel the need for some good sorround sound to couple with the image quality.

I have some experience in diy projects (I have built some high current power supplies, variable supplies, oscillator circuitry, cnc electronics) however I would like to start building my own amplifier set.

This is the material I have and here is the photo I took of some of it due to space on the table.

http://i365.photobucket.com/albums/oo98/Alexontherocks_2008/Immag042.jpg

4x500 toroids (3x 36-18-0-18-36 and 1x 30-0-30-0)

6x 33,000uf 63v electrolytic capacitors

3x18,000 50v capacitors

2 aluminium containers

everything else I may need, I will be able to acquire.

I hope somone can suggest how to put to good use this equipment and provide me with some good advice on how to accomplish this project.
I have experience in using cad software and pcb routing however I woul prefer something based on proven schematics with possibily a ready to print pcbs.

You've asked a big question. Designing and building a multi-channel amplifier is not a small project.

There are plenty of amplifier designs on the Forum that you can base your system on. Look at the DX, Symasym, Frugal, Patchwork to name a few.

But, it would be helpful if you were to tell us a bit more about your needs. Do you have speakers already ? Do you plan to have a powered sub-woofer or do you need to build an amplifier for a sub-woofer ? 5 or 7 channels ? Big and powerful or something more neighbour-friendly ? etc.