Parasound 1200 II left channel static and....

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Yep, I actually cleaned all those off after I posted the picture.
http://webpages.charter.net/ajbertelson/diyaudio/cleaned.JPG

Looking at the picture though it appears that there is just a little bit of flux on the center power mosfets, I will try to remove that tonight.

Since I am new to transitors do I just touch the ground to P4 spot(it says G on the diagram so I assume this ground) and start looking for continuity across the circuit? A beep being good of course, and an even stupider question, should the amp be turned on when looking for continuity?

I did play around with measuring the amp last night with the continuity check and noticed that both banks power mosfets were about half the voltage compared to the working channel.

Thanks again for the help all. Also John I saw in a previous thread that you didn't work for parasound, you are just the designer :cool:

I am a design consultant for Parasound. I do not actually go to work at all, except from my apartment. This is why I am not aware of many details about many Parasound products, especially products more than 10 years old.
As far as repair of this unit is concerned, it might be more than you can handle. I would look for a skilled electronic tech, to help you. I don't even like to repair these designs, and it is MUCH easier for someone who knows the unit, inside and out, to repair it.

When using a DMM please observe the following (I'm sure others will add their points)

Measure resistance (Ohms) and continuity with all power to the circuit OFF. If the Amp has been on wait a minuite for the power supply to discharge.